In 2018, the New Zealand Society for Oncology (NZSO) celebrates its 50th year. We are excited to welcome you all to Queenstown for our special edition conference. 

As always, the NZSO annual scientific meeting will represent the best of both fundamental and clinical cancer research in New Zealand.  The NZSO annual meeting features world-leading international guests, national researchers in cancer and poster presentations from researchers at all levels. A new feature in 2018 is the introductory talk for each session – themed sessions will be introduced by a discipline-specific chair to give an overview of the field and to identify (and translate) any jargon – this will lead to much more inclusive discussion of the overall scientific programme.

This year, the conference will be held on Friday and Saturday directly before Queenstown Research Week. There will be an optional morning session on Sunday focussed on Onco-immunology and co-hosted by the New Zealand branch of the Australasian Society of Immunology. 

A major theme for this year's conference is the mechanisms for translational research. Rohit Gupta, Director of the Stanford University Biobank is our keynote speaker. The Bruce Cain Lecture in this special 50th anniversary year will be given by Dr Bridget Robinson, who has been involved with NZSO throughout her successful career.

The café-style exhibition space that was so well received by delegates in 2017 returns to facilitate interactions by all members of the NZSO family. We have included a special section of patient advocacy groups to engage with researchers and industry partners. A poster session (with refreshments) will be held on Saturday afternoon to allow effective and fun interactions between delegates and poster presenters.

 The meeting will also feature the announcement of a number of prestigious awards, including the the NZSO Translational Research Award, the Roche Translational Cancer Fellowship and the PHARMAC New Researcher Awards.

Finally, our gala dinner will be held at the Skyline Restaurant at the top of the gondola. This is going to be the showcase event of the conference and will include a special presentation on the 50 year history of the society by our NZSO History Fellow, Dr Cheryl Ware. 

We look forward to seeing you in Queenstown.

Roslyn Kemp, NZSO President


Thank you to our sponsors


Breakfast session


Networking lounge


Conference app


Plenary session 


 Networking sites








Roslyn KempNZSO President

Kate ClarkeVice President

Ken Dempster NZSO Membership

Charlotte Emery Conference and Website